Browse titler i samme serie

Annals of the Western Shore (HC)Ursula K. Le Guin: Annals of the Western Shore: Gifts / Voices / Powers (Le Guin, Ursula K.)

Ursula Le Guin’s beloved YA series gathered for the first time in a deluxe collector’s edition for every reader This fifth volume in the definitive Library of America edition of Ursula K. Le Guin’s work presents a trilogy of coming-of-age stories set in the Western Shore, a world where young people find themselves struggling not just against racism, prejudice, and slavery, but with how to live with the mysterious and magical gifts they have been given. All three novels feature the generous voice and deeply human concerns that mark all Le Guin’s work, and together they form an elegant anthem to the revolutionary and transformative power of words and storytelling. In Gifts, Orrec and Gry will inherit both their families’ domains and their “gifts,” the ability to communicate with animals, or control a mind, or maim or kill with only a word and gesture. Both discover their gifts are not what they thought. In Voices, Memer lives in a city conquered by fundamentalist and superstitious soldiers who have made reading and writing forbidden. But in Memer’s house there is a secret room where the last few books in the city have been hidden. And in the Nebula Award-winning Powers, the young slave Gavir can remember any book after reading it just once. It makes him valuable, but it also makes him a threat. Gav sets out to understand who he is, where he came from, and what his gift means. This deluxe edition features Le Guin’s own previously unseen hand-drawn maps. Included in an appendix are essays and interviews about the novels, as well as Le Guin’s pronunciation guide to the names and languages of the Western Shore.

Udgivet af The Library of America 

Ursula K. Le Guin
Amerikansk forfatterinde som er en af de mest kendte og roste SF og fantasy forfattere. I fantasy er hun mest kendt for "Earthsea" serien, som startede med "A Wizard of Earthsea" I 1968. Inden for få år fuldte to bind til og alle troede at det var det, indtil den fjerde bog udkom I 1990. Desuden skrev hun en ny novelle I serien til Robert Silverbergs fantasy antologi "Legends" Inden for SF er hun mest kendt for sine "Hainish" bøger. "The Left Hand of Darkness" vandt både Hugo og Nebula prisen, og det samme gjorde "The Dispossessed." Hendes seneste bog I universet hed "Four Ways to Forgiveness".

Vare tilføjet til kurv

Gå til kurv